breakfast · Snacks

Good things come to those who wait

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while, but I’ve been so busy just one week after graduation! And work hasn’t even started full-time yet…

We spent this past weekend down the Cape for Memorial Day weekend, and to go to dinner to celebrate my graduation 🙂 Some of my family and friends came down for the evening and we went to The Ocean House, in Dennis. Highly recommend. I had calamari and mussels for an appetizer, pad Thai for dinner, and a gluten-free brownie with espresso gelato for dessert. It was unreal. And the restaurant was so accommodating to my allergy; they even had gluten-free bread! This is such a rarity at restaurants that I am always psyched when a place has some.

So I guess the title of this post bears some explanation. At first, I intended it to relate to the recipe featured below, but it also has to do with life in general. I’m not a “waiter”. I can’t stand lines, or inefficiency, or not having a plan. One of my least favorite phrases is “let’s wait and see what happens”. No. Let’s not. Let’s make a plan/decision right now. I like knowing what’s coming.

Recently, I’ve struggled a lot with not having a “real job” now that I’ve graduated from college. I mean, I went to school for four years to learn how to be a teacher, and I’m not teaching in the fall. This was really disappointing for me, and has been difficult for me to accept. In a way, I felt like I “failed” the whole college-thing, because I don’t have what I thought I would (see, waiting is not for me!). However, I’m working on being really positive about starting grad school in the fall, and working in higher education for a year as I finish my Masters’ program.

Most importantly, I am getting another year to focus on myself. I can continue with this blog and improve my cooking/baking skills; I can take more history courses, which I wasn’t able to do this last semester; and I get to work towards a graduate degree without also having to hold down a teaching job. These are all good things!

Now as your reward for reading my small rant, here is a recipe for fried plantains! I bought a plantain in the beginning of April (back in my 24B days), and it took over five weeks to ripen! I mean seriously, it took forever. I was getting so impatient because I just wanted some sugary plantains for a post-run snack…and I had to wait five weeks for them. But it was so worth it 🙂

027

This snack is super easy to make! You just have to make sure that your plantain is ripe enough, otherwise it’ll taste more starchy and vegetable-y rather than sweet.

029

Ingredients:

  1. One or two ripe plantains
  2. Granulated sugar
  3. Cinnamon
  4. Oil (I would go with canola or vegetable; olive oil might add a more savory flavor)

032

Instructions:

  1. Buy a plantain, and let it ripen. It will be ready when the skin is black. If a banana had a black peel, it would go right into the freezer to be used for banana bread. No one wants to eat an overripe banana. But the plantain won’t be ready for this recipe until the peel is nearly 100% black. Sometimes it helps to keep it in a loosely folded paper bag to help speed the ripening process.
  2. When it is ready (hopefully in less than five weeks!), slice the plantain vertically, along the inner curve. Don’t try to peel it like a banana; the skin is too thick. If you slice the peel open lengthwise, it’ll be much easier to deal with.
  3. Heat oil on medium-high in a small skillet. The oil should cover the entire pan and be about 1/2-1 inch deep. You need enough oil so that the plantain slices will be covered and fry properly.
  4. Cut the plantain into slices, much like you would a banana.
  5. Put the slices in the heated oil. Be careful it doesn’t splatter you!
  6. Allow the plantain slices to sizzle for about 3 minutes in the oil. Then, flip the slices over with a fork or spatula, and allow the other sides to fry similarly. Every stove is different, so make sure you watch the plantains as they fry. They should be lightly browned and look a little crispy.
  7. Remove fried plantains from the oil. Pat them dry with a paper towel, and then sprinkle them with cinnamon and sugar. Allow them to cool before eating them. This is definitely the hardest step, but they’ll be really hot right out of the frying pan!

036

There you go! Although plantains take a while to ripen, this snack is so worth the wait. And it’s perfect for summer! Add some to chia seed pudding with mangoes and coconut milk, and you’d have a perfectly tropical breakfast 🙂

Peace, love, and patience,

Colleen

Leave a Reply

