breakfast · Dessert

Seasons collide

Hi everyone! Greetings from the suburbs…

I graduated on Monday, and have been busy unpacking and reorganizing all my earthly possessions. I loathe anything to do with packing. But the nice weather is keeping my spirits up, along with a beautifully stocked kitchen (courtesy of my mother!). It seems like such a luxury to have access to nice utensils, baking equipment, spices, and fresh ingredients. It’s definitely a step above Mod 24B 🙂

But I am missing being at school and living with my friends. Luckily I’ll be returning to BC in the fall for a year of grad school! So I’m not really leaving the Heights quite yet…

Anyway, in between clearing out my desk and folding laundry, I found time to make a delicious pumpkin chocolate chip bread! I know that it’s nearly summertime, but the pumpkin puree I had in the fridge was calling my name. And you know, you can only eat pumpkin pie oatmeal so many days in a row, hence the creation of this delightful bread!

045

I took the recipe from Averie Cooks. I adapted it slightly to make it gluten free and to fit some other accommodations. The recipe is a little involved, but the outcome is totally worth it! Feel free to play around with the spice combinations; there are so many in this recipe that a little more or less of something would not make much of a difference! For instance, I always tend to add a touch more cinnamon than a recipe calls for, just because I love the flavor! In these kinds of situations, experimentation with flavorings won’t change the outcome of your baking 🙂

046

Ingredients:

  1. 1 large egg
  2. 1 cup pumpkin puree
  3. 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used dark brown; the original recipe uses light brown)
  4. 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  5. 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  6. 1/4 cup sour cream
  7. 1 tbsp molasses (not blackstrap! too intense!)
  8. 2 tsp vanilla extract
  9. 2 tsp pie spice
  10. 2 tsp cinnamon
  11. 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  12. 1 1/2 cups gluten free all purpose flour
  13. 1/2 tsp baking powder
  14. 1/2 tsp baking soda
  15. 1/4 tsp salt
  16. 1 cup mini chocolate chips

047

Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees, and spray a 9×5 loaf pan.
  2. Add the first 11 ingredients to a large mixing bowl (that’s everything through the nutmeg). Whisk to combine.
  3. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until just combined. Do not overmix! There is nothing worse than a dry, flat bread, which is caused by overmixing.
  4. Add the chocolate chips and gently stir batter until combined.
  5. Pour batter into the loaf pan and smooth over the top with a spatula.
  6. Bake for 50-55 minutes. The top should be domed and golden. Check the bread with a cake tester or toothpick; it should come out nearly clean.
  7. Allow bread to cool for 15ish minutes before removing from pan. Allow the bread to cool completely before cutting and serving!
  8. The bread won’t need to be refrigerated unless you plan on taking more than a week to eat it. Which doesn’t even make sense because this bread is so good 🙂 You can freeze it though, to maintain freshness if you won’t be eating it right away.

050

So while I prefer the flavors from my Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Bread, this Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread is pretty bomb, too. Let me know what you think in the comments! I know my sister’s dog was just waiting for me to drop this slice while I was taking this photo 🙂

056

Peace, Love, and Seasonal Dissonance,

Colleen

3 thoughts on “Seasons collide

Leave a Reply

