breakfast

Be sure to eat your veggies

Two words: Healthy Muffins. Those don’t go together do they? How can a fresh, delicious, sweet muffin be “healthy”?

Oh but they can be. We’re about to shatter some stereotypes right here. 004After the initial cookie mishap, I decided to redeem myself by following a recipe to a T (what does that saying actually mean anyway?). As I am moving out of Mod 24B soon (gasp!), I scrounged around for random items that I could turn into something yummy. And lo and behold, I had the proper ingredients to make these babies, courtesy  of Chocolate Covered Katie. I don’t know if you can tell yet, but I’m pretty obsessed with her recipes.006

Anyway, these muffins were perfect because they were gluten-free to begin with, which meant no spontaneous substitutions. And they’re healthy! Like they have no refined flour and very little refined sugar, and they contain a solid helping of vegetables to boot! I was trying really hard to make sure they came out right, so I didn’t change a thing about the recipe, except I added chocolate chips on the top, which is pretty harmless 🙂

007

Here is the recipe~

Ingredients:

  1. 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (I used canned pumpkin pie filling–no need to be fancy!)
  2. 1 15 oz. can of white beans
  3. 1/4 cup of honey
  4. 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  5. 2 1/2 tsp. of sugar
  6. 1/2 cup quick oats
  7. 1/4 cup of nut butter (I used peanut butter because yum)
  8. 1/4 tsp. salt
  9. 2 tsp. cinnamon
  10. 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  11. 1/8 tsp. baking soda (Try to get an accurate measure on this one)
  12. Any toppings! Chocolate chips, walnuts, dried cranberries…

Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Drain and rinse the beans very well, to get rid of any lingering bean taste. Pat dry.
  3. Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender. You may have to occasionally stop the blender and stir the ingredients, and then restart it.
  4. Spoon batter into lined or greased muffin tins. The batter will be thick, almost dough-like.
  5. Top with chocolate chips or other toppings if you want 🙂
  6. Bake for 18 minutes. They’ll look underdone, but take them out anyway because they continue to solidify as they cool.
  7. The texture should definitely be fudgy, kind of like a brownie as opposed to cake.009

This was a baking success! It was good to have a win in the kitchen after my attempt at chocolate chip cookies. But hey, it was a learning experience and now I am extra careful about reading directions whenever I’m baking.

Not sure what the next post will be about, but it’ll come ~after~ graduation…yikes!

So when you read my blog next I’ll be a bona fide college graduate 🙂

Peace, Love, and Secret Vegetables,

Colleen

Leave a Reply

