Dessert

Second time’s a charm

Hi everyone! Sorry it’s been a while…we’re in the midst of Senior Week here at BC and I haven’t had a chance to post anything recently :/ But here’s a quick update on what I’ve been working on during my last week in the kitchen at 24B…

005

Stuffed Nutella cookies!*

Now don’t get too excited, because they did not come out at all like I had anticipated. And this is where I explain to you the importance of ~following instructions~ when baking…

006

I had this wonderful plan to make chocolate chip cookies based on this recipe from Gemma’s Bigger Bolder Baking. I used the chocolate chip cookie recipe, although I’ll definitely be trying the other ones as well 😉

So anyway, I decide to triple the recipe, because 1) I want more cookies; and 2) I have all this Nutella sh*t to use up. But tripling measurements like ‘1/8 tsp’ is kind of challenging, and I ended up eyeballing a lot of the ingredients. So my cookies turned out like this:

007

Flat and weirdly crispy on the edges. I was kind of upset, because I was looking forward to having cookies for dessert! I had refrigerated part of the dough, so I took it out to try again.

Then I had a ‘Brain Blast’ (my lovely roommate, Grace, gets credit for this term) and realized I had forgotten to include the baking soda when I was making the dough. So without measuring (again), I sprinkled some baking soda into the remaining dough and hoped for the best.

This time, I abandoned the idea of Nutella Stuffed cookies and put a Hershey’s Kiss in the middle instead. Fingers were definitely crossed at this point…

010

And it worked out! The cookies baked normally and everything! The texture was a little different because I used gluten free flour, which typically does that when you substitute it for regular flour**.

014

So the lesson learned here is: follow the recipe! Baking is all about chemical reactions between ingredients, so it is important that you use the right measurements. But don’t be afraid to add your own twist onto things every once in a while, like I did by adding in the Hershey’s Kisses!

012

 

And be sure to check out the link for Gemma’s Bigger Bolder Baking that I posted above if you want to make this recipe!

Peace, Love, and Chocolate,

Colleen

*Yes, I still have this Nutella left.

**Check the recipe for the other ingredients! I did a one-to-one substitution for regular flour.

3 thoughts on “Second time’s a charm

Leave a Reply

