breakfast

When life gives you lemons

I’m a sucker for sweet breakfast foods (this pun will become relevant later I promise). So when I found myself frantically trying to use up all of my groceries before having to move out of the Mod, I decided that I needed to make pancakes. Specifically pancakes featuring the lemon juice that I still had in the fridge (boom–pun understood). And then I added a bunch of berries and chia seeds…some chocolate chips may have gotten mixed into the batter “accidentally” as well…009

Side note: there are so many recipes out there for lemon pancakes featuring ricotta cheese. Someday I’ll try that combo out, but with only eleven days left of the Mod life, I couldn’t really go around buying more food. The beauty of these last few weeks is that I’m baking a ton of goodies because I don’t want to waste anything! Essentially I’m going to go home with a lifetime supply of desserts and breakfast foods (andΒ Nutella)* for my family to devour.010

Ingredients:

  1. Bob’s Red Mill pancake mix and required ingredients
  2. 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  3. 2 tbsp. chia seeds (or any amount really)
  4. Fillings!

I put cranberries, blueberries, and chocolate chips into mine πŸ™‚

012

Instructions:

  1. Make pancakes according to package directions.
  2. Add lemon juice and chia seeds.
  3. Pour desired amount into greased pan.**
  4. Add toppings, flip when the edges start to look solid.
  5. Enjoy with syrup, honey, whipped cream, Nutella…***

015

Yesterday was a gorgeous day here in Boston, so I ate my pancakes outside whilst reading. And since school is over and we’re just waiting to graduate, it was actually reading for enjoyment! Like not for a class or other requirement! I made sure to really appreciate the moment I had outside in the beautiful sun, with my yummy food, and just read πŸ™‚

016

All in all, it was a good day πŸ™‚

Peace, love, and pancakes,

Colleen

*Yes, this still exists. But I have a plan for the leftover fudge that involves baking cookies this weekend so stay tuned πŸ™‚

**We only have frying pans here in Mod 24B, so i made giant pancakes that were the size of the pan. But if you have a griddle you can make (and eat) several at once!

***I didn’t actually put the Nutella fudge on these pancakes, but I seriously considered it.

 

Leave a Reply

