breakfast · Dessert

Too much of a good thing…

About a week and a half ago, I found myself with an abundance of Nutella fudge (<– see this post for back story). I made the Nutella cupcake-brownie hybrid, and all was well.

Except I still had more fudge. It is endless, apparently.

012

I brainstormed a list of all possible baked goods that would taste good with the addition of Nutella. Luckily, one of my favorite bloggers had a recipe for Banana Bread Nutella muffins! Thank you Katie!*

I adapted the recipe a bit to suit my needs**, and I was on the way to getting rid of more of The Fudge. Unfortunately, I still have some left, so it looks like some cookies will be coming out of the Mod 24B kitchen in the near future.

But that’s not really a bad thing 🙂

004

Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

  1. 1 overripe banana, mashed
  2. 2 tbsp. milk (I used skim)
  3. 2 tsp. lemon juice
  4. 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  5. 3 tbsp. vegetable oil
  6. 1 cup gluten-free flour (as always, I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  7. 1/2 tsp. + a dash of salt
  8. 1/2 tsp. each of baking soda and baking powder
  9. 1/3 cup sugar
  10. NUTELLA FUDGE (link to recipe in previous post)

003

Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees and spray or line a muffin pan.
  2. Combine the first five ingredients in a medium bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine all the remaining ingredients, except for the Nutella.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and stir until they are evenly mixed together.
  5. Fill up each muffin tin about a third of the way with the batter (I got 8 muffins out of this recipe).
  6. Drop a heaping spoonful of Nutella fudge into each partially filled muffin (remember, you are trying to get rid of the fudge).
  7. Cover each muffin with the remaining batter.
  8. Bake for 18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out mostly clean.

004

They came out pretty good! A bit on the dry side, but you could remedy that by adding another banana (I only had one left, so I had no choice!), and/or putting more Nutella fudge in the middle. Regardless, they made a delicious breakfast paired with some fruit and nut butter!

Peace, love, and a never-ending supply of fudge,

Colleen

*Check out Chocolate Covered Katie, an incredible blog filled with healthy dessert recipes!

**More like to suit my lack of ingredients…typical Mod lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

