Blogging

A Brief History of 24B Bakery

By now you may be wondering what exactly is “Mod 24B”…

cropped-1741.jpg

This is it^. The weathered, faded, seventies-style townhouse you see pictured above is none other than the glorious Mod 24B at Boston College. And yes, I live there. With five other girls. Six people, one Mod.

More importantly, one Mod kitchen. And to answer your question, it does get crowded in there. When you’ve got one vegetarian, one person with a gluten allergy, and four other people who have their own dietary preferences, it can be difficult to find fridge/shelf/sink space.

Naturally, under these conditions I decided to start a healthy lifestyle blog! Great idea! I’ll student teach (full time), take two classes, find a healthy living balance, and make it big on social media all at the same time! Sounds doable…

cropped-2351.jpg

It is and it isn’t. I’m a firm believer in the mantra “If you want it to happen, it will happen”. Even though it was tricky trying to balance all of these things, I made sure to find a balance because I knew that I wanted to be doing all of the things. I started small: first came my 24B Bakery Instagram account. I figured I could manage to post a couple times a day without feeling overwhelmed.

Most of the time, it worked. I got up earlier than usual (5:40 am), so that I could make a nice breakfast and prepare my lunch to take to school. I would snap a couple of pictures and post them later in the day. It got to the point though where I was spending too much time on social media and not enough time on my actual responsibilities, so I took a step back until my teaching practicum started to wind down.

After my last day of teaching, I started putting together this blog! Like no joke, I got home and texted my sister and asked her how to start a website. She’s a healthcare administration/business major, so she has way more expertise in this area than I do.

24B Bakery Final Logo

She even designed this logo for me! Thanks Caitlin 🙂

Moving forward, this blog will be my summer project. I told my mom that I would take over grocery shopping and cooking for our family this summer if she would pay for the groceries. Needless to say, she was thrilled by the idea. She works as a nurse full time and is basically superwoman, so I think it was a bit of a relief for her to have someone to take care of these tasks. And I don’t think of them as chores at all! Grocery shopping is one of my favorite activities…which sounds lame now that I’ve typed that out…

So stick with me over the summer! I promise there will be a lot of fresh recipes, fitness motivation, and general musings as I readjust to life in suburbia for a few months.

Peace, love, and 24B,

Colleen

 

Leave a Reply

