Dessert

Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day! I hope you all have a lovely day spending time with your families and loved ones.

I decided to treat my mother to some of these Nutella Crinkle Cupcakes…they are dense and fudgy and chocolatey and just perfect in general! Fingers crossed that my mum likes them!074

The recipe was kind of an experiment to be honest. I had made this Chocolate Nutella Fudge from the Cookin’ Canuck last weekend (see photo on Instagram). It was so yummy, but wouldn’t stay together! I think it was a combination of the oils in the Nutella and the fact that our Mod fridge was so full that it probably wasn’t cold enough to get the fudge to set properly. Anyway, I’ve been brainstorming ways to use up all this melty fudge that I now have…

076

And voila! I made these cupcakes! They’re somewhere in between the textures of a brownie and a cupcake, so it’s like having the best of both worlds. And they’re just perfectly sweet enough that you don’t need frosting. I highly suggest topping them with some vanilla ice cream or having them with a cup of coffee in the morning 🙂

079

For the recipe, follow the instructions for Choclate Nutella Fudge, minus the sea salt topping. So you’ll need:

  1. 14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk
  2. 1 tsp vanilla extract
  3. 8 oz. high-quality bittersweet (60% cacao) chocolate chips
  4. 1 cup Nutella, room temperature
  5. 3 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature, cut into ½-inch pieces

I used chopped up Hershey’s Kisses instead of “high-quality” chocolate, because college student…

Follow the instructions to make the fudge (it’s really easy!), and let it sit in the fridge for at least 24 hours.

080

When you’re ready to make the cupcakes, take the fudge out and let it get to room temperature. I ended up combining all the fudge pieces into one container, so that I could just scoop it out as I anticipate using it up for my next few baking projects.

You’ll need the following ingredients to make the cupcakes:

  1. 1 egg
  2. 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  3. 1 cup of Nutella fudge mixture
  4. 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp. of gluten-free all purpose flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

Combine egg and brown sugar, beating for 30 seconds. Add fudge and flour and beat until the batter is smooth. At this point, the mixture will be thicker than regular brownie batter but not as solid as cookie dough. Place the batter in the fridge for an hour or so until chilled. I left mine overnight and it was fine. Spray or line a muffin tin, and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until the tops are rounded and a toothpick comes out mostly clean. It’s ok if there’s some mixture on the toothpick; the cupcakes continued to bake a little in the tray as they cooled!

I highly recommend serving them warm 🙂

Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

