Blogging · Oatmeal

First Post!

This is it! My first venture into blogging starts right now with this very post!

If you visited my ‘About’ page, you know that I was diagnosed with a gluten allergy about a year ago. Since then, I’ve been trying new types of food and recipes in order to avoid eating things that make me feel unwell. It certainly has been an adjustment, but the past year has been one filled with exciting adventures in baking and cooking, so I can’t really complain!

One of my favorite activities is making breakfast. PGA (pre-gluten allergy), it was so easy to grab a bowl of cereal or pop an English muffin in the toaster before heading off to class or the gym. Now, I have to be a bit more creative in my breakfast-making procedure. Since pre-packaged gluten-free foods tend to be pricey, I started making smoothies and oatmeal bowls instead of the typical breakfast fare. Although it’s more time consuming, my digestive system and my wallet certainly appreciate it!

My new-found love for running also developed along the same time as I found out about my dietary restrictions, and so I’ve found that things like oatmeal with nut butter and fruit or smoothies with spinach and protein powder help to fuel my runs and lifting sessions a lot better than processed carbs.

Today, I’m heading off to run 10 miles on this gloomy and damp day in Boston, so I wanted a bowl of oatmeal filled with berries, peanut butter, and chia seeds to get me through. The oats were from Bakery on Main, a gluten-free bakery based out of Connecticut that is dedicated to providing delicious products to those who live with food allergies! Check out their website! I also had a banana with almond butter on the side…if there’s one thing you learn about me is that I am obsessed with any type of nut butter. And chocolate. Chocolate is good too 🙂

So that concludes my first ever blog post for 24B Bakery! Tune in tomorrow for my next post!

Leave a Reply

